UQ alumni recognised for contributions to society

27 Jan 2015

The Supreme Court’s Justice Roslyn Atkinson, AO, is among University of Queensland alumni who received awards in the Australia Day 2015 Honours List.

Justice Atkinson became an officer in the General Division, for distinguished service to the judiciary and to law reform in Queensland, through contributions to the legal profession and to promoting awareness of issues of injustice and inequality in Australia and internationally. 

A Bachelor of Arts in 1970 was her first UQ degree, followed by a Bachelor of Education in 1974 and a Bachelor of Laws in 1985.

Another new Officer in the General Division is Adjunct Professor Daniel Wood AO, for distinguished service to the mining and resource industry, particularly mineral exploration, through contributions as a geologist and an academic and in executive roles.

His first degree from UQ was a Bachelor of Science in 1967, followed by Honours in 1969 and a Master Science in 1975.

UQ President and Vice-Chancellor Professor Peter Høj congratulated the award recipients and said they epitomised the community spirit that UQ valued so highly.

“I thank all these wonderful people for their dedication and congratulate them on their contributions that undoubtedly are making the world a better place,” Professor Høj said.

“The breadth of UQ’s teaching and research endeavours – and the universal and global issues we address in this University – are represented in these awardees.

Professor Sylvia Rodger, AM, is a great example of the specialist knowledge and dedication we are so fortunate to have at UQ.

“Sylvia is an occupational therapist and the Research and Education director at the Cooperative Research Centre here that is the world’s first such national Autism Spectrum Disorder research effort. The centre’s work is expected to benefit more than one million Australians, improving their quality of life, education and employment options.”

Professor Rodger was recognised in the awards for significant service to medical education in the field of occupational therapy, and to community health as a clinician working with autism spectrum disorders in children.

Professor Rodger has been a UQ staff member since 1983, and is an alumnus, having been awarded a Bachelor of Occupational Therapy (1981), a Master of Educational Studies (1987) and a Doctor of Philosophy (1996).

Other Officers (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia are:

Professor John Freney, for distinguished service to conservation and the environment through research into greenhouse gas production, climate change and the efficient use of nitrogen fertiliser (BSc 1950, MSc 1957). Professor Feeney passed away this month. 

- Professor Adrian Pagan, for distinguished service to tertiary education as an academic economist, to the development of public policy research, as an author, and through contributions to professional and financial organisations. (B.Ec., 1968)

- Mr Brian White, for distinguished service to business through leadership in the real estate and construction industries, and to the arts as a patron, supporter and donor. (B.Ec., 1963)

Other members of the UQ community recognised as Members (AM) of the General Division include:

  • Emeritus Professor Thomas Cochrane, for significant service to library and information management, particularly to copyright law, and to education through electronic learning initiatives. Alumnus: Bachelor of Arts (1975).
  • Dr Peter Tak-Sum Ho, for significant service to civil and structural engineering, and to professional organisations. UQ Senate Member, 2002. Alumnus: Doctor of Philosophy, Civil Engineering (1986).
  • Dr John Burke, for significant service to medicine in the field of paediatric nephrology as a clinician and administrator, and to professional medical associations. (Alumnus - Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery, 1968). 
  • Dr James Morton, for significant service to children with Autism Spectrum Disorders through not-for-profit organisations, and to medicine in the field of oncology. Alumnus: Bachelor of Medical Science (1986), Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (1987).
  • Mr Alan Clayton, for significant service to the community through executive roles with the Australian Red Cross. Alumnus: Bachelor of Science (1969), Bachelor of Education (1974), Master Education Studies (1978).
  • Mr Robert “Gus” Wiles, for significant service to tertiary education in the field of chemical engineering as a senior academic, lecturer and mentor. Honorary Senior Lecturer, UQ School of Chemical Engineering (2000-2013), Senior Lecturer (1970-2000). Mr Wiles died late in 2014 and a scholarship fund has been established in his honour.
  • Mr Brian O’Sullivan, for significant service to engineering in the oil and gas industry, and to support for people with muscular dystrophy).
  • Mr Ross Wiseman, for significant service to the community through the leadership and promotion of volunteer organisations, Master of Social Welfare Administration and Planning (2002).

In the Military division, Colonel Bradley McCall was awarded an AM for exceptional service as the Public Health Physician, Health Threat Assessment Team, 2nd Health Support Battalion, Senior Medical Officer, Headquarters 1st Division; and Director of Clinical Services, 2nd General Health Battalion (MBBS, 1985, Master of Public Health, 1987).

Among those awarded the Order of Australia Medal (OAM) in the General Division, were:

  • Ms Susan Muddiman, for service to the museums and galleries sector in regional New South Wales. (BA, 1989, Grad Dip, 1989)
  • Ms Frances Klaassen, for service to children and families through social welfare organisations (Bachelor of Social Work, 1980)
  • Mr Leslie Kleinschmidt, for service to education and to the Lutheran Church of Australia (Bachelor of Arts, 1959, Grad Dip, 1960).
  • Mr Robin Murphy, for service to the building and construction industry, and to the community (B.Eng, 1962).
  • Ms Valerie Rose, for service to community health (BA, 1981).
  • Mr Peter Skewes, for service to local government, and to the community of Blackall (Bachelor of Laws, 1980).
  • Dr Ian Wells, for service to the community of Mount Mee (Bachelor of Vet Science, 1961).
  • Dr Walter Wood, for service to medical education, and to the community. (BSc, 1966). 

A member of the Institute for Molecular Bioscience advisory board, Professor John Funder, was awarded with one of the highest honours, a Companion (AC) in the General Division of the Order of Australia.

Professor Funder, of Victoria, was recognised for eminent service to medicine, particularly to cardiovascular endocrinology, as a renowned researcher, author and educator, to the development of academic health science centres, and to mental illness, obesity, and Indigenous eye-health programs.

Contact: Fiona Cameron, UQ Communications, communications@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 7086.