Seminar details

12pm—1pm, Monday 24 October 2016, QBP Auditorium (Building 80), UQ St Lucia campus

Please note: Seating is limited. Please arrive early to avoid disappointment.


Professor Tanya Monro

Deputy Vice Chancellor Research and Innovation, University of South Australia


Controlling light to understand and drive nanoscale processes

Advances in the generation, control, transport and manipulation of light are opening up new possibilities for detecting biomolecules within small volume samples and in hard-to-access locations. This has the potential to transform many areas of biomedical research by creating the prospect of allowing new questions to be posed, and in particular by creating a powerful new pathway to in-vivo biosensing at the scale of a single cell. This talk will provide insight into research within the ARC Centre of Excellence in Nanoscale Biophotonics, which brings together novel optical fibre sensing architectures with new approaches to surface functionalisation to create probes for application in the brain, cardiovascular system and reproductive science. An overview of the new photonics research activities emerging at the University of South Australia within the Laser Physics and Photonics Devices Laboratory will also be presented, in particular work on developing new classes of compact lasers and sensing technologies.

Speaker bio

Professor Tanya Monro is Deputy Vice Chancellor: Research and Innovation and ARC Georgina Sweet Laureate Fellow, University of South Australia. Tanya received a Royal Society University Research Fellowship, University of Southampton, was the Inaugural Director: Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing, and the ARC Centre of Excellence for Nanoscale BioPhotonics, University of Adelaide. Tanya’s awards include: Eureka Prize for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Scientific Research, the Bragg Gold Medal (best Physics PhD in Australia), South Australia’s “Australian of the Year”, Scopus Young Researcher of the Year, South Australian Scientist of the Year, and the Prime Minister’s Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year. Tanya is Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science (AAS), the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE). She is a Board Member on the Prime Minister’s Commonwealth Science Council, the Commonwealth Science and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) and the South Australian Economic Development Board.

Seminar host

Professor Paul Alewood, IMB Seminar Series Coordinator,



Qld Bioscience Precinct, Building 80, 306 Carmody Road, UQ St Lucia